pastergod.blogg.se

2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost
2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost








  1. #2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost pro
  2. #2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost mac

It only matters when the screen is disconnected from the computer (which isn’t important). The 2 small plastic pieces I broke didn’t matter, as once the computer is put together it holds itself in place. I was then able to remove the hinge cover and tighten the screws (which were also in difference places than your photos on my model). I actually had to snap it off and it broke 2 small plastic pieces (one on each end). *Note, the only different part for me was the plastic cover on the screen hinge. Put everything back together and my screen feels like new. Once I received the toolkit, I pulled up this post and completed the job in under an hour. I ordered this toolkit from Amazon (it had everything I needed to complete this) I brought it to the Apple store and they said that it wasn’t possible to “tighten” the screen and that i would have to purchase a whole new screen, for $800.00. The wobbly screen was driving me nuts and I didn’t think there would be a way for me to fix it myself it was so bad.

#2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost pro

Thanks so much! I just used this guide to fix the wobbly screen on my Mid 2012 15” MacBook Pro retina. Good job (unless you screwed something up).ĭid this work for you? Got additional tips? Leave some comments or other helpful info for others.

#2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost mac

You got your sexy backīAM! Your Mac feels tight and sexy again, like when it was in its computer twenties. Follow the iFixit instructions in reverse to put Humpty Dumpty back together. You’re now ready to replace the screen and reassemble your laptop. Replace the black sleeve by working it back into place, and sliding it left so that it locks as before. Pull up the black plastic sleeve and crank those down, too. On the other side of the hinge thingy, there is an identical pair of Torx screws that will also require tightening. For extra credit, terrorize those screws with some thread lock. With your T6 Torx, show them your oppressive nature with a good tightening. The two silver Torx screws you’ve exposed love freedom and have worked themselves loose in an attempt to escape the burdens of life inside a hot-ass laptop. That sort of unlocks it, and you can then pry it up a little to see the hinge screws. You don’t need to remove it completely, but to loosen it, slide it to the right. Once you’ve separated the screen from the body, we can get at the little bastards causing the wobble.Ĭheck out the black plastic sleeve that covers the hinge stuff. There are many other kits for sale at various price points. iFixit sells their own (nicer) kit for a bit more. Hint: I found a cheap hobby kit that has both the tiny screwdriver and Torx bits you’ll need. Spudger (optional-ish but highly recommended).This should help you for the bulk of the dismemberment/rememberment(?) process.īefore you start, make sure you have these tools:

2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost

Unless you’re a mafia hit man, your confidence in performing this kind of traumatic dismemberment might be lacking.īut never fear! There’s a great guide for doing this on iFixit.

2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost

The first step is to remove the screen from the Macbook body. Don’t try it if you suck at fixing stuff. You just need the right tools and about an hour. It turns out the fix is pretty straightforward. Google didn’t proffer any good solutions, so I decided to dive into the unknown and try exploratory surgery on my Mac. Still usable, but definitely putting a dent in my Macbook’s sexy. The whole screen/monitor (the part that flips up) developed about 2 cm of back-and-forth play, and it felt like perhaps the hinge was loose. But as we all know, old folks can get wobbly. It’s been chugging along loyally for over three years, and in Internet time, it’s like a Regis Philbin. My 2008 unibody Macbook Pro has a loose screen.










2008 macbook pro screen replacement cost